8th of March 1984: Hot information directly from Big brother society, Ociania.

After several hours of traveling, lying down in a cramped space inside a car, I finally crossed the boarders of Oceania. Thanks to the skilled driver the guards didn’t seem suspicious at all. One thing that immediately chocked me when I wondered around in town a couple of hours later was that all the men had very long beard. At first I thought this might be some kind of tradition in this part of the world. But after I had overheard a fat middle aged man asking his skinny friend for razorblades, I understood there was something weird going on, since at least where I come from razorblades are very cheap. After passing a store with a signpost saying “No razorblades in stock, expected delivery date April 30th, things started to fall into place. After further research I found out that the lack of razorblades was a common problem, and furthermore that this was the case for many other products as well, such as pencils and chocolate, where the government had set a limit allowing every Party member 20 grams per week. I find this limits very strange. This morning when I was exploring town, I happened to see a couple of people unloading a truck filled with lots of chocolate and packages of coffee one can not buy in public stores here in Oceania. These products were taking in to the Ministry of Love and a person wearing clothes representing the Inner party came and signed the packing list. This seemed for me really weird. How could there be such rations on these products when the government seems to have plenty of it. Something I have learned during my first day is that the limits the government ahs set on a lot of products might not really be necessary and people suffer without cause. As far as I am concerned, the government doesn’t care about their citizens. Thank God I am not staying here for long, because I don’t like having a beard and I love chocolate!

 


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0